Making science work for development

ICSU lines up its next Presidents

12 September 2014

The International Council for Science (ICSU) has appointed its new President and elected his successor.

Professor Gordon McBean, an internationally recognised meteorologist and climate change expert, assumed the presidency on 3 September at the conclusion of ICSU's 31st General Assembly in Auckland, New Zealand. He succeeds the previous ICSU President, Yuan Tseh Lee.

Professor McBean's decorated career has included becoming Assistant Deputy Minister in Environment Canada, and was, from 1994 to 2000, responsible for climate, weather and air quality sciences and services in the federal government.

He has long been involved in ICSU work, including the World Climate Research Programme (WCRP) and the Integrated Research on Disaster Risk (IRDR) programme, whose Scientific Committee he chaired until 1 November 2011.

He is also President of Global Change START International, an organization which supports regional networks and capacity enhancement in Africa and Asia.

Another development from the General Assembly was the election of Professor Daya Reddy to succeed Professor McBean when his presidency comes to an end in October 2017.

Professor Reddy currently holds the South African Research Chair in Computational Mechanics. He is President of the Academy of Science of South Africa, and serves as Co-Chair of the InterAcademy Council, a body which produces reports on scientific, technological and health issues for governments and global organisations.

For more information on either announcement please visit the ICSU website.

  • ICSU